Healthy can be delicious!

Hey everyone!

One of my biggest new years resolutions this year was to completely change how I eat. Don’t get me wrong, this wasn’t another “diet”, I actually want to make this a lifestyle!

I had several family members who had complications or even passed away because they weren’t eating healthy, and eventually it caught up to them, so I figured, why not start early, so that I can be healthy and happy at any age?

There are so many great resources out there about clean and healthy eating. I was skeptical, I mean clean eating sounds boring huh? Turns out, you can have great tasting foods that are still good for you! Haha, I am just realizing this. Oh well, better late than never!

Breakfast consisted of a delicious smoothie.

Simply blend frozen bananas, a splash of milk, and a dash af vanilla.

pineapple-coconut-banana-smoothie

It tasted like vanilla icecream but with less than 100 calories!

I prepared a lovely salad for lunch consisting of delicious veggies- carrots, cucumbers, avacado, corn, and lettuce with a drizzle of low fat ranch dressing.

IMG_0503[2]

IMG_0509[1]

Yumm right??

I never liked avacados and couldn’t stand their texture, but they grew on me and now I am obsessed with them 🙂

And to end of my health kick, I made homemade granola!!

Granola02

It turned out delicous-here is the recipe.

Honey Nut Granola

Ingredients
1 cup of rolled oats
⅓ cup of shredded coconut
3 tbs of pecans, roughly chopped
2 tbs of pistachios, roughly chopped
2 tbs of slivered almonds
3 tbs of cashews, roughly chopped
¾ tsp of ground cinnamon
¼ tsp of ground nutmeg
¼ tsp of sea salt flakes
⅓ cup of honey
1½ tbs of olive oil
1 tsp of boiling water
Instructions
Preheat the oven to 120 Celsius (250 Fahrenheit) and place the oats, coconut, nuts, salt flakes and cinnamon in a bowl. Toss to combine. Combine the honey with the boiling water and then add to the oat mixture along with the oil. Stir well making sure everything is coated.
Spread out on a tray lined with baking paper and bake for 1 hour, stirring every 20 minutes or so to ensure the mixture browns evenly. When golden leave to cool and store in air tight jars.
Notes
Play around with the ingredients and come up with your perfect granola. Try adding sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, walnuts or whatever else you prefer.

Compliments to Le Delicieux.

If you have any healthy tips or favorite recipes, please do share in the comments!! I’d love to hear them 🙂

Lastly, I wanted to mention that the lovely brand that I am working with is having a huge Valentine’s day sale, and they have absolutely adorable items!

The 3 “Loves” of Valentine’s Day

-I Love to be loved.  Intricate and feminine…  Check me out!

securedownload (3)

-I love in my way.  I am my own rose.  I’m checking you out!

securedownload (4)

-I love my friends.  We party and pair-up.  Let’s go out!

securedownload (5)

Check it out at Romwe.com!

Love and kisses,

Miss M

14 thoughts on “Healthy can be delicious!

  1. We were trying to be super healthy too. Juicing and whatnot. It’s easy once you get in a rhythm, but if you fall off of it it’s so hard to get back with the program. Inspiring post, thanks!
    xo
    ashley

  2. I’m the exact same way with avacados! I used to think they were gross and slimy and I wasn’t interested in them at all. Now, I eat them every weekend with scrambled eggs. Delish! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

