Start of my healthy lifestyle journey

Hi there lovely people!

I am excited to share with you that I have started making huge changes in my life. I have been trying to change my lifestyle for the better. The main changes I am making are health and fitness changes.

I have a goal to lose 20 pounds by the end of summer, and I know that it sounds like a lot, or is unheealthy for such a short amount of time, but I am so determined and just EXCITED to live a healthier and more active life.

I have slowly been making changes in my diet. Let me make one thing clear, this is not a diet, this is a lifestyle change! I don’t know why it took me so long to realize that healthy eating is sooooooo impportant!!!!!

I used to have this belief that the amount you eat is more important than the quality of the food you eat. Boy was I wroooong. I have been stuck on the same weight on the scale for over a year. I used to think that something was wrong with me because no matter what I did or ate, the scale DID NOT BUDGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This brought so much frustration and anger and it caused me to give up after a week of working out or dieting. I realized that losing weight will only happen with commitment, and long term changes, which is why diets DO NOT WORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So the first thing I did was download a calorie counter on my phone. This has helped me realize how much I eat and how I need to make smarter choices in what I eat. I began doing things that I have never done, like eating breakfast and drinking 8 cups of water every day.

Starting the day off with breakfast is the most important part of the day! Once you start the day right, the rest of the day will surely follow the same way.

Another thing is that I have started to workout consistently. I started this Monday, and upon weighing myself, I am 2 pounds lighter and counting!!!!! When I saw that scale, I freaked out. Two pounds might seem like nothing, but to me it is a HUGE victory.

I will NOT give up this time. Eating healthier and being more active has given me more energy and more happiness. I am excited to continue this journey and live a healthier life.

Do you have any smart tips on healthy eating or working out that I could use? I would love to hear them!!!

Love and kisses,

Miss M

5 thoughts on “Start of my healthy lifestyle journey

  1. I started using Lose It about a year ago on my phone, it helps tremendously! Also grab a measuring tape and measure your thigh, waist, chest and neck (might be different for women). Sometimes the scale does not move (muscle weight) but if you take measurements once a week you see changes there πŸ™‚ . I have been stuck at 165 for a couple weeks but, my chest lost 1/4 inch and my waist was 1/2 inch lost.

  2. I’ve been stuck at the same weight for most of this year after having my son last December. My goal was to lose 10 pounds by my birthday. I started at the beginning of July and my birthday is August 15. It’s not going to happen. 😦

    I’m not giving up though and I wish you the best of luck! We can encourage each other on Twitter. πŸ˜›

  3. Thanks for following my blog, Miss M! I will be writing about healthy eating, body image, and so on in the next few months, but I will say a few things I have learned in my journey: love your body as it is right now, the strong and amazing mechanism that has accompanied you so well and so far; create meals and snacks that are sensually thrilling, tasty & you look forward to instead of thinking of healthy food as deprivation and denial–there is so much yummy, non-calorically dense food out there! And it helps to find the exercise every day that you enjoy so much you want to go do right now–bike, rollerblade, walk in a beautiful place, etcetera. Good luck!

  4. Working out is a big part of getting fit and losing weight so kudos for starting that! Here’s a post I wrote to encourage people to get moving and to lose weight without making themselves crazy–http://sustainabilitea.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/move-it-to-lose-it/.

    Make eating healthily fun by trying a new, healthy recipe one a week. You can do try them more often, but aim for one and you’ll be likely to succeed. Have an occasional treat, but just a bit. Use smaller plates/bowls. Eat slowly, putting down your utensils between bites. Eat with someone else and talk and relax. If you want to snack, eat something healthy and tasty, such as a piece of fruit. You can find some great healthy recipes on my site under “recipes” or “health” or “food.”

    If you have trigger foods that make you overeat, don’t buy them. If someone at work has them sitting on the desk, don’t walk by that desk if at all possible or nicely ask if the temptation could be removed or put elsewhere.

    Fill about half your plate with veggies, a quarter with some sort of bean or grain and if you eat meat, the other quarter with that. One proven way to eat less is to keep the serving bowls off the table and in the kitchen where it’s more work to get them and have that second helping. You can leave bowls of veggies or fruit on the table. Have fruit for dessert instead of something else or have a small piece of dark chocolate.

    Those are just some of the things I can think of off the top of my head. Best of luck with your weight loss and healthy diet. And be sure to give yourself time for your tastes and eating habits to change.

Leave a Reply

