Panera Bread Soup :)

So recently its been very cold in Seattle. Cold and rainy.

And usually on cold and rainy days, I have soup.

I always crave Panera Bread Broccoli and Cheddar soup, but this day I was feeling particularly lazy. And I did not want to leave my cozy home out into the pouring rain just to drive to Panera Bread.

So I thought to myself, why not make some at home! It can’t be that hard to find the secret recipe and make it at home, can it?

There is something about Broccoli Cheddar soup that makes it the ultimate comfort food. For me at least. The creamy thick soup, or the chunks of broccoli, the melted cheese, Oh my. I am getting hungry just writing this.

Try out this recipe. I can’t taste the difference between this and Panera Bread soup. In fact, I think its even better.

I guess my mamma was right, the secret ingredient is to add a little bit of love, it will make any dish spectacular.

Enjoy! 🙂

 

Broccoli Cheddar soup
1. Saute 2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp minced onion and 2 cloves minced garlic in the bottom of a pot.
2. Next, add 1/2 cup butter, and 1/2 cup flour. Whisk on low till smooth.
3. Add 2 cups half and half cream, 2 cups milk, and 4 cups chicken broth. Boil, and simmer for 5-10 minutes.
4. Add 1/2 to 1 head of chopped fresh broccoli (depends how much you like) and 3/4 cup chop carrots. Cook till tender, about 20 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, a little bit of cayenne pepper, and paprika based on your personal taste. I like it a little more spicy so I added more pepper! At this point you can blend in blender it to make it smooth, or leave how it is. Sprinkle cheese on top and dig in!

Finished!

 

Love and kisses, (and soup!)

Miss M

One thought on “Panera Bread Soup :)

Leave a Reply

